Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka: Everything you need to know about the two-match Test series

Bangladesh are set to lock horns with Sri Lanka in a two-match Test series, starting Sunday, May 15 with the opening Test at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.

The Tigers started 2022 with a historic defeat over Tom Latham’s New Zealand at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, where Ebadot Hossain became the Player of the Match for his six-wicket haul in the second innings. But since then, Mominul Haque and Co. have lost three Tests in a row, including two matches in South Africa where Keshav Maharaj ran through their batting lineup with ease.

For the upcoming Test match, Bangladesh will miss the services of Taskin Ahmed, who has been ruled out due to a shoulder injury. All-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz will also miss the opening Test due to a finger injury. Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, in the meantime, has been added to the squad. Fast bowler Shoriful Islam was set to miss the first Test, but has recovered in time.

The hosts have a major concern regarding whether or not to include Shakib Al Hasan in the playing XI. The veteran tested COVID-19 positive a few days ago, but has managed to recover. Although he’s one of their key players, head coach Russell Domingo is apprehensive about Shakib taking the field in Chattogram. Domingo said that the Tigers may leave out a 50-60 percent fit Shakib.

Sri Lanka, led by Dimuth Karunaratne, will go into the series after losing 0-2 to India a couple of months back. Right-handed batter Oshada Fernando has found his way back into the squad after performing exceptionally in domestic cricket. Pathum Nissanka missed the Day-Night Test against India due to a back injury and he has failed to gain the desired fitness levels.

The Islanders have also included the uncapped duo of Dilshan Madushanka and Kamil Mishara for the first Test. Ambidextrous spinner Kamindu Mendis replaced Roshen Silva in the original squad after the latter “indicated his inability to tour”. Sri Lanka are currently placed fifth in the points table in the 2021-23 World Test Championship. Bangladesh, on the contrary, are ranked eighth.

Where to watch Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Test series?

There is no live telecast of the matches in India. Fancode app will live stream the matches.

Squads for Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya.

Bangladesh squad for first Test

Mominul Haque (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Khaled Ahmed, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Mosaddek Hossain (subject to fitness)

Schedule for Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

1st Test Sunday, May 15 Thursday, May 19 Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram

2nd Test Monday, May 23 Friday, May 27 Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *