Gulbadin Naib, Mujeeb ur Rahman dropped by Afghanistan for limited-overs series against Zimbabwe

Afghanistan all-rounder Gulbadin Naib has been dropped for the away limited-overs series against Zimbabwe, starting June 4. The teams will play three T20Is and three ODIs, which will be part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

Alongside Naib, who was part of the ODI series against Bangladesh in February, Qais Ahmad and Mujeeb ur Rahman, who have Vitality Blast commitments, have been left out of the T20I series.

While Qais has missed out on a selection in both squads as he will be playing Kent in England’s domestic tournament, Mujeeb will join Middlesex after representing Afghanistan in the ODI leg. Ihsanullah Jannat and Noor Ahmad have replaced the duo in the T20I squad.

Meanwhile, left-arm spinner Zia-ur-Rahman Akbar has received a call-up for the ODIs. He was the leading wicket-taker in the Green Afghanistan One-Day Cup, the domestic 50-over tournament, with 14 wickets at an average of 12. Wrist-spinner Noor Ahmad and fast bowler Nijat Masoud have been added as reserves for ODIs.

The ODI series will be played on June 4, 6 and 9 at the Harare Sports Club, followed by T20Is on June 11, 12 and 14 at the same venue in Harare.

Afghanistan ODI squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhail (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Rashid Khan, Riaz Hassan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai, Zia ur Rahman Akbar.

Afghanistan T20I squad: Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran (vc), Afsar Zazai (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ihsanullah Janat, Karim Janat, Nijat Masoud, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf and Usman Ghani.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.