New Zealand seamer Lea Tahuhu joins wife Amy Satterthwaite in missing out on annual contract

A day after New Zealand women’s most-capped ODI player and former captain Amy Satterthwaite announced her retirement from international cricket due to losing her annual contract, her wife and seamer Lea Tahuhu missed out on receiving an offer to renew her existing contract.

Along with Tahuhu, Frankie Mackay, Leigh Kasperek and Thamsyn Newton have also been sidelined from New Zealand’s future scheme of things.

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has included six new players to its 17-strong list for the 2022-23 year, with an eye on the future. The new entrants are Fran Jonas, Molly Penfold, Izzy Gaze, Nensi Patel, Eden Carson and Georgia Plimmer.

NZC GM of High Performance Cricket, Bryan Stronach, acknowledged some tough calls had to be made, considering the next few seasons of the women’s team.

“It’s never easy coming up with a final 17 players,” said Stronach. “Having said that, we’re excited about the six new faces receiving contract offers, several of whom already have some White Ferns experience under their belt.

“To be in a position in which we’re genuinely considering the credentials of a wider pool of players can only be viewed as a positive for the women’s game.”

Stronach said there would “clearly” be some players disappointed to miss out and, in terms of that, wanted to acknowledge the commitment and professionalism those not being offered contract renewals had brought to the team environment.

“They have given their all; have made great sacrifices, and retain our absolute respect,” he said.

“It’s also important to emphasise that, just because someone hasn’t received a national contract offer, it doesn’t mean they cannot, or will not, be selected. This is about having on contract the players we’re most likely to use during the next 12 month period.”

New Zealand players offered central contracts for 2022-23: Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Sophie Devine, Lauren Down, Izzy Gaze, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Melie Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Nensi Patel, Molly Penfold, Georgia Plimmer, and Hannah Rowe.

Source link

Leave a Comment